Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of FEMSA consists of 21 Directors and is assisted by 1 Secretary (non-member) and 1 Alternate Secretary (non-member). In accordance with our bylaws and the Mexican Securities Law, at least 25% of the members of our board of directors must be independent. Directors are elected by the shareholders of the company at the Annual General Shareholders Meeting. Each Director is assigned a specific Alternate Director who is authorized to serve on the Board of Directors in the event that the Director is unable to attend meetings or otherwise participate in the activities of the Board of Directors.

Directors and their specific Alternate Directors are appointed for a term of 1 year and are eligible for re-election after the completion of their term in office. The By-Laws of the Company provide that the holders of the FEMSA B Shares may elect at least eleven Directors and the holders of the FEMSA D Shares may elect five Directors.

Since 2001, Jose Antonio Fernandez, former CEO of FEMSA, has presided as Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Current members of the Board of Directors:

Series B

  • Chairman of the Board
    Elected: 2001

    Alternate: Federico Reyes García

    • Vice President of Corporate Development of Fomento Económico Mexicano S.A.B. de C.V. (FEMSA)
      First elected: 2005
    • Private Investor
      Elected: 1998

      Alternate: Bárbara Garza Lagüera Gonda

    • Private Investor
      Elected: 1999

      Alternate: Othón Páez Garza

    • Chief Executive Officer of Franca Servicios, S.A. de C.V., Servicios Administrativos de Monterrey, S.A. de C.V., Regio Franca, S.A. de C.V., and Franca Industrias, S.A.
      Elected: 2005

      Alternate: Francisco José Calderón Rojas

    • Vice-President of Strategic Businesses of Fomento Económico Mexicano S.A.B de C.V. (FEMSA)
      Elected: 2001

      Alternate: Juan Carlos Garza Garza

    • Operations Manager at Servicios Liverpool, S.A. de C.V.
      Elected: 1996

      Alternate: Bertha Michel González

    • Chairman of the boards of directors of Grupo BAL, S.A. de C.V. Peñoles, GNP, Fresnillo plc, Grupo Palacio de Hierro, S.A.B. de C.V., Profuturo and Chairman of the Governance Board of Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM).
      Elected: 1989

      Alternate: Arturo Fernández Pérez

    • Chief Executive Officer of Servicios Administrativos Contry, S.A. de C.V.
      Elected: 2004

      Alternate: Daniel Alberto Rodriguez Cofré

    • Chairman of the Board of Directors of SOLFI, S.A.
      Elected: 1988
    • Chairman of the board of directors of Controladora Vuela Compañía de Aviación, S.A.B. de C.V. (Volaris)
      Elected: 2006

      Alternate: Sergio Deschamps Ebergenyi*

    • Former CEO Fomento Económico Mexicano, S.A.B. de C.V. (FEMSA)
      Elected: 2014

      Alternate: John Anthony Santa María Otazua

    • Private Investor
      Elected: 2009

      Alternate: Juan Guichard Michel

    • Chairman of the board of Directors of The Home Depot Mexico, S. de R.L. de C.V.
      Elected: 2006

      Alternate: Víctor Alberto Tiburcio Celorio

    • Executive vice-president of Grupo Televisa, S.A.B. (Televisa)
      Elected: 2015
      CEO Fomento Económico Mexicano S.A.B. de C.V. (FEMSA)
      Elected: 2014

Series D

Chairman of the Board of Directors of Alfa, S.A.B. de C.V.
Elected: 2003

Alternate: Enrique F. Senior Hernández*

Senior Associate of Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Elected: 2011

Alternate: Francisco Zambrano Rodríguez*

Private Consultant
Elected: 2003
Chief Investment Officer of William H. Gates III
Elected: 2010
Partner of Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
law firm
Elected: 2001

Alternate: Ernesto Cruz Velazquez de León*

Carlos Eduardo Aldrete Ancira

Alternate Secretary:
Alejandro Gil Ortiz

Note: * Indicates Independent member

Investor Tools

Key Documents